B2.2 – Vocabulary Recycling – Three expressions with get

The activity below reviews some vocabulary from term one related to expressions with get.

Read the three definitions and examples for each expression/phrasal verb and decide which ones are true definitions.

Answers at the bottom of the page.

1)  to get over

a)  this phrasal verb means to recover from something, usually an illness or something bad or traumatic that happens to you.  e.g.  I saw Diego yesterday and he told me some sad news, his wife Yolanda had left him and moved in with his best friend, he was so upset, I don’t know if he’ll ever get over it.

b)  To get over something means that you avoid doing something you don’t want to do.  e.g. I had to do an exam but I got over it by pretending to be ill.

c)  When you get over something it means that you achieve something very difficult.  e.g.  It has always been my ambition to learn to play the piano.  I hope I’ll get over it someday.

2)  To get away

a)  To get away means to be successful at something.  e.g.  Although I didn’t study very hard before it, I totally got away in the exam and scored 75 out of 90.

b)  To get away is when you do not do what you are supposed to do.  e.g.  He was sacked from his job because he never got away the work he had to do.

c)  To get away means to escape.  e.g. 1:  Living in a big city like Madrid can be very stressful, that’s why I like to get away from all the noise and pollution and go walking in the mountains at the weekend.  e.g. 2:  After stealing the gold, the police followed the robbers, who were driving Minis.  They chased them through the city but eventually the criminals got away.

3)  To get through

a)  When you get through it means you find what you are looking for.  e.g.  I spent ages looking for a blue and white scarf for my brother for Christmas and eventually I got through one in the market.

b)  To get through something means you manage to do something you thought was going to be difficult.  e.g.  I wasn’t looking forward to giving a presentation to my colleagues in English but I prepared a lot and got through it without any problems at all.

c)  To get through means to make contact or to establish communication.  e.g.  I’ve been trying to speak to call Beatriz in Seville all morning but I haven’t been able to get through to her.  She must be in a meeting.

 

Answers:

1)  To get over – definition a is correct.  2)  To get away – definition c is correct.  3)  To get through – definitions b and c are correct.

Leave a comment

Filed under B2.2 - Vocabulary recycling

Leave a Reply

