B2.2 Grammar – Structures with wish (2)

Here’s a very short text.  Can you identify the type of text?  Who do you think the speakers are?

Speaker one:  I wish I had been born 1000 years ago!

Speaker two:  Why is that?

Speaker one:  Just think of all the history I wouldn’t have to learn!

The text is a joke and I imagine the two speakers are a pupil at school talking to their teacher or a child talking to a parent.

Which conditional sentence below accurately summarises speaker one’s point of view:

(a) If I had been born 1000 years ago, I would not have as much history to learn.

(b) If I had been born 1000 years ago, I would not have had to learn so much history because then children didn’t have to study history at school.

Grammar point!  The wish refers to the past.  How is the wish different grammatically from the wishes in the texts that were linked to in the previous post:  structures with wish (1)?

Leave a comment

Filed under B2.2 - Grammar

Leave a Reply

