FCE Use of English part 4 – transformations with phrasal verbs (1)

In part four of paper 3, Use of English, candidates transform a sentence beginning and ending so that it has a similar meaning to another sentence.

This is testing how well you can control and use different structures, patterns and vocabulary to paraphrase information.  Basically, how flexibly you can use English to communicate messages in different ways.

Here are some variations on the actual exam activity.  Read sentence one and then order the words below so that they create a sentence with a similar meaning to the first one.

The examples here are aimed at testing phrasal verbs / expressions we have seen during the course.  There is an example first.

0)   Since the recession began many people have been forced to spend less.

Order these words:  start cut recession spending have of of the a people the to had down on lot since

Answers:  Since the start of the recession a lot of people have had to cut down on spending / A lot of people have had to cut down on spending since the start of the recession.

1)  I have finally decided what I’m going to do in the summer.

Order these words:  made  about  going  this  finally  my  do  I  have  mind  what  am  summer  I  up  to

2)  I really admire the way she has coped with her health problems.

Order these words:  really  because  she  coped  problems  her  to  her  of  health  up  the  look  way  with  I  has

3)  Could you give me some more information about the course?

Order these words:  mind  would  details  into  the  about  you  more  going  course?

4)  She is such an effective communicator.

Order these words:  gets  so  ideas  she  well  her  across

5)  I will need to check the numbers again and make sure there are no mistakes in the report.

Order these words:  have  will  over  report  numbers  again  in  no  mistakes  to  to  the  there  are  look  the  ensure  I

Answers:

1:  I have finally made up my mind about what I am going to do this summer.

2:  I really look up to her because of the way she has coped with her health problems / Because of the way she has coped with her health problems, I really look up to her.

3:  Would you mind going into more details about the course?

4:  She gets her ideas across so well. / She gets her ideas across so well.

5:  I will have to look over the numbers in the report again to ensure there are no mistakes.  /  I will have to look the numbers in the report over again to ensure there are no mistakes.  /  I will have to look over the numbers again to ensure there are no mistakes in the report.  / To ensure there are no mistakes in the report I will have to look over the numbers again.  etc.

Check the phrasal verbs:

to reduce spending / spend less money:  to c _ _ d _ _ _ o _ spending

to decide / make a decision:  to m _ _ _ your mind u _ / to m _ _ _ u _ your mind

to admire someone:  to l _ _ _ u _ t _ someone

to give more information:  to g _ i _ _ _ (more) detail(s) (+ about something)

to communicate ideas (well):  to g _ _ your ideas / point a _ _ _ _ _ (well)

to check information / details e.g. numbers, figures etc.:  to l _ _ _ o _ _ _ some information / details etc.

Leave a comment

Filed under B2.2 - FCE Use of English, B2.2 - Grammar, B2.2 - Vocabulary recycling

Leave a Reply

